My Poetry

Repeat

I could tell you in detail
what the walk looks like
at midnight, 2 a.m., even 5
never having seen the familiar
yards and fences during daylight

it’s impressive how someone can
feel so close from a distance
a breeze that carries you off
to where he’ll lift up your skirt
or the song in your headphones
his floor, leaking emotions

as he walks on I squint
getting stuck in the hold position
he forgot to let me off the hook
scratched and skipping I’m on

– Repeat by Kelley Stephens

.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Repeat

Leave a Reply

